Posted by: Erin | April 20, 2008

The Comment

I have to comment on this because it is rather funny.  When people post comments for the first time, I get an email in order to “approve” their comment for the site and to moitor if it is a spam comment or not.  Well, I got this comment from “Kevin from NRCAN” and while I don’t know him, I had to allow his comment…why you ask?  Well, when I documented my past projects, I didn’t comment on them.  If I did, I don’t think Kevin would have been so happy about our class using the RETscreen Canadian software.  First of all, it is one of the worst programs I’ve ever used.  In addition to have several MAJOR flaws, I had my friend and computer genius Brannin, unlock the excel based program so I could see the formulas they were using to generate the Net Present Value, Payback period, etc.  They were all generated incorrectly!  How can you offer software and generate crucial numbers like this INCORRECTLY!!! And furthermore, how can you expect to have a legitimate program when you design it in excel?!?!   I spent half of my presentation completely tearing about the software and pointing out it flaws.  And Kevin’s comment is even better because he is a giving advice to my “Big sis”, Tracy who was completely joking about the SimaPro and RETscreen.  Tracy, I am sure you will get a kick out of this as well… you are famous now!!!  And definitely drop Kevin a line and he can tell you ALL about RETscreen…ha ha!

As for the rest of my life here, it is quite busy.  And since I don’t want to put you to sleep I’ll just say that school is keeping me so busy that I don’t have time to do anything exciting.  There is a movie night here and a birthday party there, but for the most part the weekends are spent either in the classroom for lectures or studying for our weekly Monday course exams.

I have no idea what is going on with the upcoming presidential elections.  I am completely uninformed in regards to recent US events.  In addition to being completely cut off from the US, my spoken English is degrading along with my writing.  Honestly, I am starting to talk in broken English because I am around people who speak that way.  It is a horrible habit to pick up and I’m not sure how to correct it.  Any ideas?  Anyone have any good books they can recommend so I can read once again see a properly written sentence?

Responses

  1. Have been missing your notes and am totally ‘flummoxed” regarding your studies!! So pleased that you understand so that our world will become a healthier one. Looks like Obama should get the nod, spring has begun, gas is over 3.50 a gallon, the Pope was here with numerous Masses said and meetings held. Bob will be speaking in either Berlin or Copenhagen and will be retiring this month!!! Love,Lee

  2. That is totally HILARIOUS!!!!! Did that guy Kevin not see the “totally cracking myself up” comment? I’ll have to take his advice try to apply it to MY HOUSEHOLD BUDGET!!!!!!!!!!! What the?????
    Love and miss you!
    Me


Leave a Reply

Categories

